When Our Beloved Died, . . .

“When our Beloved died, all mankind died and all things for a space were still and gray. They the east was darkened, and a tempest rushed out of it and swept the land. The eyes of the sky opened and shut, and the rain came down in torrents and carried away  the blood that streamed from His hands and His feet.

I too died. But in the depth of my oblivion I heard Him speak and say, “Father forgive them, for they know not what they do.”

And His voice sought my drowned spirit and I was brought back to the shore.

And I opened my eyes and I saw His white body hanging against the cloud, and His words that I had heard took shape within me and became a new man. And I sorrowed no more.

Who would sorrow for a sea that is unveiling its face, or for a mountain that laughs in the sun?

Was it ever in the heart of man, when that heart was pierced, to say such words?

What other judge of men has released His judges? And did ever love challenge hate with power more certain of itself?

Was ever such a trumpet heard ‘twixt heaven and earth?

Was it known before that the murdered had compassion on his murderers? Or that the meteor stayed his footsteps for the mole?

The seasons shall tire and the years grow old, ere they exhaust these words: “Father forgive them, for they know not what they do.”

And you and I, though born again and again, shall keep them.

And now I would into my house, and stand an exalted beggar, at His door.

                                                               [“Phillip,” from Jesus the Son of Man, Kahlil Gibran]

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. T_P_K
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 12:33:18

    Wonderful, Sherrie.
    Happy Easter!

    Reply

  2. Jan
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 17:22:35

    Thank you for this, Sherry.

    Reply

    • Sherry
      Apr 23, 2011 @ 12:23:33

      I am so taken with Gibran these days. He speaks so eloquently and it seems to very real…Blessings on Easter Jan!

      Reply

  3. Tim
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 22:50:15

    Belated Easter joy, Sherry! The accelerated pace of Holy Week observances and Easter celebrations overtook me and I missed having the luxury of returning to this place for daily inspiration. Yet the eloquence you share here is always timely–reminding us that Easter’s triumph doesn’t erase the gravity of Calvary’s torment.

    Reading this “out of time,” I’m reminded of Hebrews 6’s counsel to “move beyond the elementary teachings about Christ and be taken forward to maturity,” warning us that those who fall away from this path “are crucifying the Son of God all over again and subjecting him to public disgrace.” Calvary must be real to us if we’re to reap its full benefits by power of resurrection.

    Every day is Good Friday for many, unfortunately, while every day is Easter for those of us seeking an ever deeper experience of faith. That is the spirit I find here always–the search for more, the desire for depth. And I thank God for your willing service to steer all who are privileged to come here in that direction!

    Much love and many blessings,
    Tim

    Reply

    • Sherry
      Apr 28, 2011 @ 15:26:12

      I just fell in love with Gibran during Lent. i found so many many wonderful pieces that just seemed to fit so well. I hope that your Easter was as marvelous as you wished. Mine was lovely. Love and blessings dear Tim

      Reply

Leave a Reply

