Empty Vessel

My new friend, Michelle at Questioning Christianity wrote this beautiful poem the other day, and with her permission, I am reprinting it here.
 
 
There is a truth that God has etched upon my soul; it is love.

It is the seed of freedom that grows when I return to the divine wellspring with my empty vessel.

But I am so rarely empty.

I build God in my image or borrow blueprints from others.

Then, somewhere in the middle of the night, I realize it is all theory. Every last word.

And I am alone.

The walls that provided me with a sense of security have been abolished.

Just. Like. That.

Gone.

In my aloneness I am empty.

Yet somehow this site of deconstruction, this demolition, is God’s favourite place to dwell.

I have no ideas, no pictures, no manual.

But I now have space.

Space to be filled with What Is.

And I am.

 
I fancy myself a student of both theology and biblical studies. I find them worthwhile pursuits for a variety of reasons. But more and more, I am convinced that the only true way of knowing God is to give up every illusion we have of who God is. It is a constant emptying and starting over. This is what this stunning poem meant to me. Thank you so much Michelle. 
6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 21:04:19

    Thank you so much Sherry. It means a lot to me!

    Reply

  2. Linda Wickert
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 11:09:29

    I am working on a piece for our weekly bulletin at Church and we are displaying three empty vessels in front of the altar starting on Ash Wednesday and your poem would be beautiful to include. It speaks most eloquently of what I would want to say…regarding the use of the symbolic empty vessels…. I tried contacting Michelle but her blog is down….could you find out if we can get permission to use her poem?

    Thank you so much for any effort in this matter,
    Linda

    Reply

  3. Sherry
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 12:26:19

    I’m sorry but I have no other means of contacting her myself. I would suggest you use the poem and give her credit and a link to her blog and mine, so that it is clear that I substituted permission through her permission to me.

    Reply

  4. Linda Wickert
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 08:37:58

    Thank you, is there a last name?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

