Listening

“Listen to instruction and be wise, . . .Blessed, whoever listens to me, who day after day keeps watch at my gates. . . .For whoever finds me finds life, and obtains the favor of Yahweh; but whoever misses me harms himself, . . . [Prv 8: 33-35]

Listen, obey, seek. These are the words that guide us through the desert of Lent.

We listen best by reading scripture every day, by reading other spiritual works, and by listening to those around us who speak.

This requires an attention locked onto the present moment. We “internalize” what we read, we ponder it, we seek its meaning for us at this juncture of our lives.

When we believe we have received the message, we act upon it. We alter our inner being, we actively do all manner of things that turn our beliefs into concrete results.

We seek, ever seek God. We spend more time gazing out windows, looking deeply into our family and friends and every stranger we encounter. We recognize love offered to us from pets and the tiniest of insects. We relax into the community of life that we exist within. We recognize the cosmic unity of which we are a part.

We return, again and again to this moment, this precious moment that is the past the very instant we recognize it. We return to it as often as we can throughout our busy days, for we find within this moment the very essence of listening, obeying, and seeking. It is a wheel of divine interchange.

Stop. Listen. Obey. Seek.

Amen

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tim
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 22:06:38

    Sherry, I’m so glad you ended by prefacing “Listen. Obey. Seek” with “Stop.” As my recent need to call a time-out reminds me (once again), I’m not very good at resisting the urge to overdo and over-commit. And ere too long, I’m spun in a web of busy-ness.

    Lent calls us to walk its wilderness with both feet–not one in the desert and the other maintaining the frenzied pace of daily life. At some point, we have to make ourselves stop. Otherwise, we’ll rush to listen, but never hear; try to obey, but merely comply; and strive to seek, yet fail to see.

    Once more, you’re spot-on. If I didn’t know how many others are blessed by your work here, I’d be convinced you were writing just for me!

    Blessings always,
    Tim

    Reply

    • Sherry
      Apr 02, 2011 @ 13:43:58

      Yes Tim, I’m so guilty of trying to fit Lent into my daily schedule, and it’s not working too well.

      As to writing for you? lol..well I’m most glad if it seems that way,and I’m not sure I have that many readers on this blog. I try to just write from my heart without getting into all that “stuff” that I am way guilty of at Afeatheradrift. lol Blessings

      Reply

Leave a Reply

