Are You Listening?

“Listening” by Darren Christianson

 

“I went outside to see
if God’s voice
was disturbing anybody”~~ excerpted from “A Sufi Garden”

The beauty of these words is impossible to deny. Indeed, if we believe that God is transcendent and active in creation, then God’s voice echoes from everywhere. Not in a cacaphanous  sound of cross messaging, but perhaps all speaking one word of encouragement and direction.

If I had to guess, it would be the world LOVE.

And as the poem suggests, it isn’t disturbing nearly enough people in our world. We are too busy talking ourselves about all our petty needs and desires, busy trying to shout down each other about every manner of issue, often exactly as to what God is telling us. You see, we all “hear” differently, through our own subjective lens of reality.

We tailor God’s message to our own time and place, to our own way of thinking, until alas in too many instances, it is not God’s word at all, but our own. And because we agree with it, we become all the more sure that God wishes us to make everyone else agree with our conclusion.

Christians and other faith systems are often charged with being the reason for much of the violence in the world, both historically and today. And it is hard to deny that fact at least on the surface. What is more likely, is that religious gives a “validity” to underlying purposes that are more self-serving than motivated to “do God’s will.”

We can be very sure it seems to me that when our vision of God’s will is hurtful to anyone, limiting to anyone, constricting of their freedom to say and do as the majority does, we have slipped the bounds of what God wants to what we want.

Is this not the great sin? To do what we want in the name of God?

God’s voice is clear as blue skies, untouched beaches, pristine water. It resounds with the clear tones of a bell–LOVE all that I have created.

Enter the kingdom today in peace, in love, and hear God.

Amen.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daniel Lieurance
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 10:48:58

    Thank you Sherry for posting this. It happens to be my main focus this Lent: to listen.

    From deep within my soul, I hear your voice, it’s nonchalant tone whispers to my thoughts. ~ddl

    Reply

  2. Tim
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 15:32:45

    Sherry, while I can never credence the Japanese tragedy and Libyan crisis as God’s handiwork, I believe God’s will is at work in them, coming as they do in these early days of Lent. Christians everywhere are greeted with a call to compassion and concern on a scale unlike any I can recall. The message is, indeed, love. How can we not hear it and obey?

    As always, I’m grateful for your insight and introspection. You are a true gift to all of us making this vital pilgrimage to the cross.

    Blessings, dear friend,
    Tim

    Reply

    • Sherry
      Mar 22, 2011 @ 12:18:58

      Tim I am with you on this. I never believe that God “causes” any disaster, but he does work through us to accomplish amazing good from the ashes as it were… Blessings,

      Reply

  3. like a child
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 21:12:41

    Did you see this quote by Macdonald, which parallels your wonderful post:

    http://undeception.com/mondays-with-macdonald-on-what-the-gospel-is-and-isnt/

    Away with your doctrines! Away with your salvation from the ‘justice’ of a God whom it is a horror to imagine! Away with your iron cages of false metaphysics! I am saved—for God is light! My God, I come to thee. That thou shouldst be thyself is enough for time and eternity, for my soul and all its endless need. Whatever seems to me darkness, that I will not believe of my God.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

