Waiting in the Silence

“The Father spoke one word from all eternity and he spoke it in silence  and it is in silence that we hear it.” ~~St. John of the Cross

Or as Thomas Keating says, “silence is God’s first language.”

We all know about prayer, the petitions and thanksgiving we offer unto our Creator each day. But silence is perhaps the best prayer of all, it is the offering up of our spirit, open, vulnerable, needing.

It is our surrender to God and most of all it is listening. As those who teach this kind of prayer tell us, we may be totally unaware of anything transpiring, but during this time, when we quiet ourselves and simply sit, the communion of engaged fully, transforming, reordering our inner being.

We listen, we wait, and God’s gentle direction will come.

It seems that every faith tradition has some form of this type of prayer. We can call it Centering Prayer, or Mindfulness, or Contemplative, or Zen Meditation. It is the prayer of the Desert Fathers and Mothers, the prayer of mystics around the world. It is quieting ourselves and allowing the Creator to move within us.

Let us find time each day to wait in the silence.

Amen

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Thomas Bryner
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 15:58:45

    I liked this post. 🙂

    “The quieter you become, the more you can hear.” ~Ram Das

    Reply

  2. Tim
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 16:49:10

    Sherry, this is great. I’ve found one of silence’s greatest blessings to be the disarming of my opinions. It eases me into a space where all of my thoughts–including what I think about them–are rendered useless. And it’s there that I know, in a beautifully inarticulate way, that I am not alone.

    It’s sort of primordial, isn’t it–sort back to the very beginning when God’s Spirit hovered over the water and there was no time.

    This post blesses me. Thank you.

    Peace and quietude,
    Tim

    Reply

    • Sherry
      Mar 13, 2011 @ 11:19:38

      I love the primordial aspect you speak of here. What a wonderful image to hold in meditation. Thank YOU.

      Reply

  3. Bobbie Rae
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 17:58:29

    Thanks for the pingback, Sherry. The original title of my blog “Silverwalking” was “Blessed Silence,” which still is the main intent. Silence is so crucial to our souls, spirits and frankly, general good health. Trying to meet God on Her terms instead of always bombarding Him with our needs is an interesting experience. I much enjoyed this post :).

    Reply

    • Sherry
      Mar 13, 2011 @ 11:22:57

      Oh you are most welcome! I agree, in our loud lives,silence is a true blessing, and one that we all need to pursue it on a regular basis.

      Reply

  4. John Anngeister
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 22:07:42

    Sherry I’m glad we share an appreciation for silence in worship. I have been working with Father Keating’s ‘centering prayer’ as a piece of my total approach to God since the late 1990s.

    Currently I find the silent method making more sense at the highest levels of communion – where I dare believe God is with us as spiritual ‘Father’ or source. Silence, in my current view, is a very meet and fit and right ‘thing to do’ when I try sincerely to entertain the idea of such a divine presence. i.e., here I need to shut up more and listen – and change.

    By contrast, verbal methods of prayer (even unspoken thoughts – which don’t qualify as true silence according to Keating) are difficult for me but tend more toward the on-earth-as-in-heaven kind of partnership I attempt with Jesus and the Holy Spirit – childlike explorations in post-pentecost privileges, so to speak.

    Reply

    • Sherry
      Mar 13, 2011 @ 11:27:23

      I’m reading Cynthia Bourgealt’s book on Centering prayer as part of my Lenten practice. I’m working at it. !

      Reply

Leave a Reply

